Journal of Research in Music Performance

The Journal of Research in Music Performance is a peer-reviewed journal designed to provide presentation of a broad range of research that represents the breadth of an emerging field of study.

The journal is launching anew, after moving to an open source journal platform in time for the Fall issue, 2012. Within this space a diverse population of scholars, teachers, performers, students and new researchers will have the opportunity to create a continuing discourse within an emergent field. Research, in the context of this journal, is broadly defined to include quantitative, qualitative, ethnographic, historical, theoretical, philosophical, and experiential inquiry. Submissions of all types of research are encouraged.  As an online journal, JRMP offers the opportunity for the presentation of scholarly work in many different formats including print, audio, visual, and multimedia.

All manuscripts submitted to the JRMP should be aligned with the journal’s purpose - to encourage the study, development, application, and evaluation of music performance.  All manuscripts are refereed (blind) using a peer-review process involving at least three reviewers. The review process typically takes approximately three months, however we typically don't review across the northern summer months (June and July).  The JRMP acceptance rate is <25%.


Editorial Board

Executive Editor
Kelly A. Parkes (
Associate Professor
Teachers College Columbia University, New York , NY
United States

Associate Managing Editor
Kathryn Russell (
Teachers College Columbia University, New York , NY
United States

Review Board

David Akombo (
Jackson State University
Jackson, MS 
United States

Nicole Becker (
Teachers College, Columbia University
New York, NY
United States

Christine E. Carrillo (
Bridgewater College
Bridgewater, VA
United States

Christopher Carrillo (
James Madison School of Music
Harrisonburg, VA
United States

Carla Davis Cash (
School of Music Texas Tech University
Lubbock, TX
United States

David G. Hebert (
Grieg Academy
Bergen University College
Bergen, Norway

Michael Hengst (
Metropolitan State University of Denver
Denver, CO
United States

Frank Heuser (
University of California, Los Angeles
United States

Ronnie Ingle (
University of North Dakota, ND
United States

Bonnie McAlvin (
Winner, National Flute Association Convention Performers’ Competition, 2011
New York, NY
United States

Carol L. Shansky (
Iona College
New Rochelle, NY
United States

Deborah A. Sheldon (
Temple University
Philadelphia, PA
United States

Ann Marie Stanley (
Louisiana State University School of Music
Baton Rouge, LA
United States

Kevin Tutt (
Grand Valley State University, MI
United States

Sandra Schwartz (
West Virginia University, WV
United States

Jeffrey Ward (
School of Music, Theatre and Dance
Kansas State University
Manhattan, KS
United States 

Brian Wesolowski (
Hugh Hodgson School of Music
University of Georgia, GA
United States 

Mathias Wexler (
Crane School of Music
Potsdam, NY
United States




JRMP is Archived and no longer accepting submissions


The JRMP is no longer accepting submissions.

See the archive location information below.

Posted: 2018-06-12 More...
More Announcements...