Journal of Research in Music Performance

The Journal of Research in Music Performance is a peer-reviewed journal designed to provide presentation of a broad range of research that represents the breadth of an emerging field of study.

The journal is launching anew, after moving to an open source journal platform in time for the Fall issue, 2012. Within this space a diverse population of scholars, teachers, performers, students and new researchers will have the opportunity to create a continuing discourse within an emergent field. Research, in the context of this journal, is broadly defined to include quantitative, qualitative, ethnographic, historical, theoretical, philosophical, and experiential inquiry. Submissions of all types of research are encouraged.  As an online journal, JRMP offers the opportunity for the presentation of scholarly work in many different formats including print, audio, visual, and multimedia.

All manuscripts submitted to the JRMP should be aligned with the journal’s purpose - to encourage the study, development, application, and evaluation of music performance.  All manuscripts are refereed (blind) using a peer-review process involving at least three reviewers. The review process typically takes approximately three months.  The JRMP acceptance rate is <20%.

 

Editorial Board

Executive Editor
Kelly A Parkes (kparkes@vt.edu)
Associate Professor
Virginia Tech, Blacksburg , VA
United States


Review Board

David Akombo (david.o.akombo@jsums.edu)
Assistant Professor
Jackson State University
Jackson, MS
United States

Christine E. Carrillo (ccarrill@bridgewater.edu)
Assistant Professor
Bridgewater College
Bridgewater, VA
United States

Christopher Carrillo (carrilcj@jmu.edu)
Assistant Professor
James Madison School of Music
Harrisonburg, VA
United States

Carla Davis Cash (carla.d.cash@ttu.edu)
Assistant Professor
School of Music Texas Tech University
Lubbock, TX
United States

David G. Hebert (dgh@hib.no)
Professor
Grieg Academy
Bergen University College
Bergen, Norway

Michael Hengst (mhengst@msudenver.edu)
Assistant Professor
Metropolitan State University of Denver
Denver, CO
United States

Frank Heuser (fheuser@ucla.edu)
Associate Professor
University of California, Los Angeles
United States

Ronnie Ingle (ronnie.ingle@und.edu)
Associate Professor
University of North Dakota, ND
United States


Richard P. Kennell (kennell@bgsu.edu)
Retired Dean and Professor of Music Performance
Bowling Green State University, OH
United States

Bonnie McAlvin (bonniemcalvin@yahoo.com)
Winner, National Flute Association Convention Performers’ Competition, 2011
New York, NY
United States

Carol L. Shansky (carolshansky@gmail.com)
Assistant Professor
Iona College
New Rochelle, NY
United States

Deborah A. Sheldon (dsheldon@temple.edu)
Professor
Temple University
Philadelphia, PA
United States


Ann Marie Stanley (amstanley@esm.rochester.edu)
Assistant Professor
Eastman School of Music
Rochester, NY
United States

Kevin Tutt (tuttk@gvsu.edu)
Associate Professor
Grand Valley State University, MI
United States

Mathias Wexler (wexlermk@potsdam.edu)
Professor
Crane School of Music
Potsdam, NY
United States

Announcements

 

Call for Papers

 
The focus of the Journal for Research in Music Performance is broad and includes all aspects of performance. Manuscripts submitted should be based on a sound theoretical foundation and appeal to a music performance audience. Manuscripts of a theoretical, practical, or empirical nature are welcome and manuscripts that address innovative performances are especially encouraged.  
Posted: 2012-12-01 More...
 
More Announcements...